jinks unusual pursuitJacobson, The sunlit zoneMadnessfriday-brown

Congratulations to all the women who have featured in this year’s Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature.

Children’s Literature $15,000

Catherine Jinks for A Very Unusual Pursuit (Allen & Unwin)

John Bray Poetry $15,000

Lisa Jacobson for The Sunlit Zone (5 Islands Press)

Non-Fiction $15,000

Kate Richards for Madness: a Memoir (Viking/Penguin)

Young Adult Fiction $15,000

Vikki Wakefield for Friday Brown (Text publishing)

Wakefield Press Unpublished Manuscript $10,000

Cassie Flanagan-Willanski for Here Where We Live (short story collection)

Barbara Hanrahan fellowship $15,000 

Jennifer Mills for Common Monsters

Tangkanungku Pintyanthi Fellowship $15,000 

Ali Cobby Eckermann for Hopes Crossing

Frank Moorhouse took out both the Fiction Award and the Premier’s Award for Cold Light (Vintage Books). Phillip Kavanagh won the Jill Blewett Playwright’s Award for Replay (un-produced). The full list of winners can be found here.


Have you read or reviewed any of these books? (It seems Catherine Jinks’ book may not have been reviewed as yet for the challenge.) You can find links to reviews of some of the other books on our AWW Review Listings pages.