Congratulations to all the authors shortlisted for the 2016 Miles Franklin prize. As with last year, four out of the five shortlisted authors are women.

The shortlist is:

  • Hope Farm by Peggy Frew
  • Leap by Myfanwy Jones
  • Black Rock White City by A.S. Patrić
  • Salt Creek by Lucy Treloar and
  • The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood

Each of these books has been reviewed for the AWW challenge:both Salt Creek and Leap have attracted five reviews; Hope Farm, seven; and this year’s Stella Prize winner, The Natural Way of Things, ten. (Follow the links for the list of AWW reviews.)

You can find information about the prize and descriptions of the shortlisted books on the Miles Franklin website here – click on the 2016 shortlist.

The winner will be announced at the Melbourne Writers Festival on 26 August.

FrewHopeFarmleap-myfanwyjonesSalt CreekCharlotte Wood, The natural way of things